ACEC 2021-2022 Executive Committee

Robin Greenleaf
Chair 2021-2022

Robin Greenleaf

Ms. Greenleaf is Chief Executive Officer of Architectural Engineers, Inc. in Boston, MA.

She has served as President of ACEC Massachusetts and serves as a PAC Co-Champion. She is former Chair of CAMEE, the Coalition of American Mechanical and Electrical Engineers.

She holds a BS in Civil Engineering from Oregon State University, and an MS in Structural Engineering from Drexel University.




Linda Bauer Darr
President and CEO

Linda Bauer Darr

Ms. Darr is President/CEO of ACEC, joining the Council in August 2018. She came to the Council after serving as president of the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (2014-2018) and the American Moving & Storage Association (2007-2014). She also held senior positions from 2001 – 2007 with the American Bus Association, and from 1998-2000 served as Deputy Assistant Secretary for Budget and Programs at the U.S. Department of Transportation.

She holds a Bachelor's of Science degree from the University of Maryland.

Ms. Darr is a member of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s Committee of 100 Top Association Executives.




W. Art Barrett, II
Chair-elect, 2021-2022

W. Art Barrett

Mr. Barrett is a Senior Vice President of Gannett Fleming, Inc. in Baltimore, MD.

He served as a Vice Chair of ACEC from 2018 to 2020. He is an ACEC Fellow and serves on the Planning Cabinet as well as participates on the Transportation and Federal Agency and Procurement Advocacy (FAPA) committees.

He has served on the ACEC Maryland Executive Board, as Chair and National Director, as well as the ACEC/MD PAC Champion.

Mr. Barrett is a member of the ACEC/PAC Chairman’s Club. He is a member of the ACEC Senior Executives Institute (SEI) Class 2018. He was recognized as the ASCE Maryland Engineer of the Year and has served as President of both ASCE/MD and the Engineers Society of Baltimore.

He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil and Environmental Engineering from Clarkson University.




Gary W. Raba
Senior Vice Chair, 2021-2022

Gary Raba

Dr. Gary W. Raba is President of Raba Kistner, Inc. in San Antonio, Texas.

He is active on ACEC’s Planning cabinet, the Design Professional Coalition and is Chair of the national ACEC/PAC Committee. Gary has served as ACEC/Texas Chairman and PAC Chair.

He holds BS, MS and Doctor of Engineering degrees in Civil Engineering from Texas A&M University.




Matt Hirst
Treasurer, 2020-2022

Matt Hirst

Mr. Hirst is President & CEO of CRS Engineers in Salt Lake City.

He is active on ACEC’s Sales and Marketing Forum, the Small Firm Council, ACEC’s Transportation Committee, and regularly moderates the medium firm CEO forums. He has served as Board Member, President and National Director of ACEC/Utah.

He holds a BS & MS in Civil Engineering/Project Management from the University of Utah




Ed Alizadeh
Vice Chair, 2020-2022

Ed Alizadeh

Mr. Alizadeh is CEO of Geotechnology, Inc. in St. Louis, MO.

Mr. Alizadeh is active in the Transportation Committee and Geoprofessional Coalition and previously served in all the major leadership positions in ACEC Missouri.

He holds a BS in Petroleum Engineering from the University of Tulsa and a JD from St. Louis University.




Michael Cooper
Vice Chair, 2020-2022

Michael Cooper

Mr. Cooper is President and Managing Principal of HED in Michigan.

He is active on ACEC’s Planning Cabinet and ENR 500 Executive Steering Committee, in addition to serving as the Executive Committee Liaison to the ACEC Life Health Trust. He has also held all major leadership positions within ACEC Michigan.

He holds a BS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Michigan and an MBA from the University of Phoenix.




Gary D. Hartong
Vice Chair, 2021-2023

Gary Hartong

Mr. Hartong is President of The Wooten Company in Raleigh, N.C.

Mr. Hartong recently served as National Director for the American Council of Engineering Companies for North Carolina, after a full rotation on the Executive Committee, and now serves on the Board of Governors for Engineering Companies for North Carolina.

He is a current member of the ACEC/PAC Chairman’s Club and previous ACEC/PAC Champion for ACEC/NC.

Mr. Hartong earned a B.S. in Environmental Engineering at N.C. State University, where he then pursued a Master's in Civil Engineering.




John Rathke
Vice Chair, 2021-2023

John Rathke

Mr. Rathke is a Vice President and Principal at Mead & Hunt, Inc. in Wisconsin. He is active on ACEC’s Transportation Committee and Risk Management Committee. He has served as National Director, Chairman of the Board and Nominating Committee Chair for ACEC Wisconsin. He holds a BS in Civil Engineering from the University of Wisconsin – Platteville.




Melvin C. Williams
Vice Chair, 2021-2023

Melvin Williams

Mr. Williams is VP/Senior Client Development Manager at Terracon in Charleston, South Carolina.

Mr. Williams serves on the ACEC Planning Cabinet and Transportation Steering Committee and was elected by the College of Fellows to receive the ACEC Community Service Award.

Mr. Williams has held many leadership positions with ACEC-SC and is now serving as the Affiliate Director. He has also been elected to serve in leadership roles for many other local, state, regional and national boards and committees.

He holds a Bachelor of Science Degree from South Carolina State University and A Bachelor of Science Degree in Civil and Environmental Engineering from the Citadel Military College.




Beth Bauer
NAECE President, 2021-2022

James Smith

Ms Bauer is Executive Director of the American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC) of Indiana and is the current President of the National Association of Engineering Council Executives (NAECE). NAECE is comprised of the Executive Directors of the 52 member organizations affiliated with ACEC National, as well as the Executive Directors of several other related international organizations.

She previously served as NAECE Representative on the Business Insurance Trust, is active in the Indiana Society of Association Executives, and is a registered lobbyist in Indiana.

She holds an MBA from Pepperdine University and BS from Utah State University.




Charles J. Gozdziewski
Chair Emeritus, 2021-2022

Charles J. Gozdziewski

Mr. Gozdziewski is Chairman Emeritus of Hardesty & Hanover in New York.

He is active on ACEC’s Planning Cabinet, the Design Professionals Coalition, and was Chair of the national ACEC/PAC Champions Committee. He has served as President and National Director of ACEC/New York.

He holds a BS in Aerospace Engineering from the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn.






Click the video above to learn why ACEC Business Education will help your firm thrive.



Capture Planning for the Win

Capture Planning for the Win is a step-by-step, scalable capture and pursuit management guide that will help you evaluate and improve your firm’s business development capabilities.Details

2019 Salary Survey of Engineering Firms (ZweigWhite)

The ZweigWhite 2019 Engineering Firm Salary Survey is the most up-to-date and comprehensive compensation survey report for engineering firms operating in every region of the U.S. Details


Insurance and Retirement Trusts

ACEC's Trust Programs are designed to enhance your membership investment by helping to control your firm's costs. More Info




OpenRoad   Office Depot LHT Office Depot 





Copyright 2022 American Council of Engineering Companies
1400 L Street, NW, Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005-3592  -  P: 202.347.7474  -  F: 202.898.0068  -  E-mail:
About ACEC   -   Press Room   -   Contact Us   -   Terms of Use   -   Privacy Policy

LinkedIn Instagram Twitter Facebook