Skip to content

Washington, DC – Last week, the American Council of Engineering Companies presented awards to engineers who have made significant contributions to their profession and their community at the organization’s Fall Conference in Austin, Texas.

The outstanding awardees include students, young professionals, community service volunteers, and engineers that made a lasting impact on the profession.

ACEC President and CEO Linda Bauer Darr said of the awardees, “Engineers play a vital role in our communities by pioneering advancements and serving as the backbone of progress, innovation, and resilience. From safer roads and bridges to cleaner air and water, engineers are at the forefront of improving our world.

“The engineers being recognized with these awards and scholarships are using their skills and talents to make our communities safer, healthier, and more prosperous. We are proud to honor them for their accomplishments and to support their continued success.”

2023 Young Professional of the Year Awardees

Top Young Professional of the Year

  • Erik Walega, Staff Engineer with RESPEC Company, LLC in Rapid City, SD

Young Professionals of the Year

  • Ryan Delves, Transportation Design Department Manager with Stanley Consultants in Chicago, IL
  • Jonathan Markt, Senior Traffic Engineer and Transportation Planner with HDR in Omaha, NE
  • Jessica Ross, Senior Associate with Watts Architects & Engineers in Buffalo, NY
  • Jessica Splittgerber, Transportation Project Engineer with EMCS, Inc., in Wausau, WI

2023 Inductees to the ACEC College of Fellows

  • Derek Clyburn, ECS Southeast, Raleigh, NC
  • Gary Hartong, The Wooten Company, Raleigh, NC
  • Matt Hirst, CRS Engineers, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Andrew McCune, Wade Trim, Taylor, MI
  • Gary Raba, Raba Kistner, Inc., San Antonio, TX
  • Rizwan Siddiqi, EBA Engineering, Laurel, MD

2023 Scholarship Recipients

  • ACEC Life/Health Trust Scholarship
    Jayci Tsuhako, University of California – San Diego
  • ACEC Small Firm Coalition Scholarship
    Jaclyn Bashore, University of Cincinnati
  • a/e ProNet Scholarship
    Jillian Dlouhy, University of Nebraska-Lincoln at Omaha
  • College of Fellows Scholar of the Year
    Michael Drummond, University of Cincinnati
  • J.A. Watts Diversity in Engineering Scholarship
    Madison Allen, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
  • Kimley-Horn Diversity in STEM Scholarship
    Angel Randall, Prairie View A&M University
  • Kimley-Horn Diversity in STEM Scholarship
    Alex Chau, San Diego State University
  • Lee Rice LRE Water Scholarship
    Kyle Van Horn, Ohio Northern University
  • Morrissey Goodale Diversity in STEM Scholarship
    Grace Whisler Lipford, Kansas State University
  • Morrissey Goodale Helping Hand Scholarship
    Isabella Bernard, The Catholic University of America
  • Stanley Consultants Diversity in Engineering Scholarship
    Morgan Trechter, The Catholic University of America
  • Stanley Consultants Helping Hand Scholarship
    Katlynn Vicuna, University of Hawaii at Manoa

2023 ACEC Community Service Awards

  • C.K. Satyapryia, President & CEO, CTL Engineering, Columbus, OH
  • Rizwan Siddiqi, President & CEO, EBA Engineering, Laurel, MD

2023 QBS Special Recognition Award

  • Alabama State Senator Clyde Chambliss

2023 Coalitions Distinguished Service Award

  • John Burns, Senior Vice President and COO at Burns Engineering, Philadelphia, PA

2023 Chair Emeritus Award

  • John Carrato, Immediate Past Chair of the ACEC Research Institute and former CEO and Chair of Benesch, Chicago, IL


Resource Type

Press Release


October 23, 2023

Resource Link

View Resource

Scroll To Top